Former captain Rashid Latif accused Ramdin of “cheating”
Former captain Rashid Latif on Sunday accused West Indies wicketkeeper Dinesh Ramdin of “cheating” when he claimed a clean catch of Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq in their Champions Trophy match in London.
Ramdin has been charged with a level two offence by the match referee and a hearing is set for tomorrow. Misbah was ruled not out by the third umpire.
Ramdin, who could be fined upto 100 per cent of his match fees and also face a one or two match ban, has pleaded not guilty.
But Latif, who once served a five-match ban for claiming a bump catch, said Ramdin definitely knew that he had not completed the catch.
“It happens in the spur of the moment but for Ramdin to say he is not guilty is not right. He knew he had not completed the catch and had picked up the ball from the ground. He should not have claimed the catch,” Latif told PTI.
“He (Ramdin) might say anything but basically he cheated when he claimed a catch after picking up the ball from the ground. A keeper knows well what he is doing and when he has taken a clean catch.”
Latif himself was banned in 2003
Latif himself was banned in 2003 during a Test match against Bangladesh at Multan after he claimed a bump catch for the dismissal of Alok Kapali. He was charged with a level one offence and banned for five ODIs.
“Even I had a feeling the catch I claimed might have been clean and I paid the penalty for it. But, for the West Indies captain, Dwayne Bravo and Ramdin to try to give the impression they did not know it and to claim the catch is against the spirit of the game,” Latif said.